Connect with us


Overwatch World Cup Announces Groups For 2017 Season

The Overwatch World Cup 2017 is quickly taking shape with Blizzard today announcing how the top 32 nations will be divided.

Alongside the dividing of these nations, players in each nation have selected a three-person committee to select the teams that will represent their country in the World Cup. Once selected, these teams will compete within groups in round-robin style matches to determine the top two teams of each Group. At that point, the top 2 teams from each Group will face off in the Playoffs.

The live events will also be expanded so that fans can support their teams in 4 venues in Shanghai, China; Sydney, Australia; Katowice, Poland; and Burbank, California of the United States. Two groups a piece will compete in one of the venues. The breakdown of nations in groups and venues is below.

Group A – playing in Shanghai:

  • China
  • Hong Kong
  • Norway
  • Romania

Group B – playing in Shanghai:

  • France
  • Denmark
  • Thailand
  • Argentina

Group C – playing in Sydney:

  • Sweden
  • Australia
  • Italy
  • Portugal

Group D – playing in Sydney:

  • Finland
  • Japan
  • Spain
  • Vietnam

Group E – playing in Katowice:

  • South Korea
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Austria

Group F – playing in Katowice:

  • Canada
  • Russia
  • Singapore
  • Turkey

Group G – playing in Burbank:

  • United States
  • Chinese Taipei
  • Brazil
  • New Zealand

Group H – playing in Burbank:

  • United Kingdom
  • Germany
  • Israel
  • Belgium

Dates and venues for each of the locations have yet to be announced for the Overwatch World Cup. Does your country have a shot at making the playoffs?

Stephen has been an avid gamer for nearly 25 years, fighting alongside caped crusaders, Jedi, and biotic Asari along the way. He likes to try new things but frequently comes back to Overwatch.


More in News



To Top